Loading... Please wait...
FREE SHIPPING on All Unbranded Items LEARN MORE
Shipping delays are possible due to current supply chain complications. Inquire before ordering.
Print This Page

Optimists Die First

List Price: $9.99
SKU:
9780553496932
Quantity:
  • Availability: Confirm prior to ordering
  • Branding: minimum 50 pieces (add’l costs below)
  • Check Freight Rates (branded products only)

Overview

Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will.
 
Beware: Life ahead.
 
Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy life, Petula shut herself off from the world after a family tragedy. She sees danger in all the ordinary things, like crossing the street, a bug bite, or a germy handshake. She knows: life is out to get you.
 
The worst part of her week is her comically lame mandatory art therapy class with a small group of fellow misfits. Then a new boy, Jacob, appears at school and in her therapy group. He seems so normal and confident, though he has a prosthetic arm; and soon he teams up with Petula on a hilarious project, gradually inspiring her to let go of some of her fears. But as the two grow closer, a hidden truth behind why he’s in the group threatens to derail them, unless Petula takes a huge risk. . .

Praise:
Bank Street Best Children’s Books of the Year

“Nielsen writes with sensitivity, empathy, and humor.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred
 
“Nielsen excels at depicting troubled, clever teenagers in familiar environments.” —School Library Journal, Starred 

“[An] empathic and deeply moving story, balanced by sharply funny narration and dialogue.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred

“A poignant exploration into the nuances of healing.” —Quill and Quire, Starred

Branding Options (v), Availability & Lead Times

  • 1-Color Imprint: $2.00 ea.
  • Promo-Page Insert: $2.50 ea. (full-color printed, single-sided page)
  • Belly-Band Wrap: $2.50 ea. (full-color printed)
  • Set-Up Charge: $45 per decoration
FULL DETAILS
  • Availability: Product availability changes daily, so please confirm your quantity is available prior to placing an order.
  • Branded Products: allow 10 business days from proof approval for production. Branding options may be limited or unavailable based on product design or cover artwork.
  • Unbranded Products: allow 3-5 business days for shipping. All Unbranded items receive FREE ground shipping in the US. Inquire for international shipping.
  • Product Details

    Author:
    Susin Nielsen
    Format:
    Paperback
    Pages:
    256
    Publisher:
    Random House Children's Books (February 20, 2018)
    Language:
    English
    Age Range:
    12
    Grade Level:
    7th Grade
    Lexile Measure:
    580L
    ISBN-13:
    9780553496932
    ISBN-10:
    055349693X
    Weight:
    8.6oz
    Dimensions:
    5.5" x 8.25" x 0.62"
    Case Pack:
    24
    File:
    RandomHouse-PRH_Book_Company_PRH_PRT_Onix_delta_active_D20210919T093124_9821353-20210919.xml
    Folder:
    RandomHouse
    List Price:
    $9.99
    As low as:
    $7.69
    Publisher Identifier:
    P-RH
    Discount Code:
    A
  • Customers also viewed