Loading... Please wait...
FREE SHIPPING on All Unbranded Items LEARN MORE
Print This Page

Everything Belongs to Us (A Novel)

List Price: $27.00
SKU:
9780812998542
Quantity:
  • Availability: Confirm prior to ordering
  • Branding: minimum 50 pieces (add’l costs below)
  • Check Freight Rates (branded products only)

Overview

Two young women of vastly different means each struggle to find her own way during the darkest hours of South Korea’s “economic miracle” in a striking debut novel for readers of Anthony Marra and Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie.

Seoul, 1978. At South Korea’s top university, the nation’s best and brightest compete to join the professional elite of an authoritarian regime. Success could lead to a life of rarefied privilege and wealth; failure means being left irrevocably behind.

For childhood friends Jisun and Namin, the stakes couldn’t be more different. Jisun, the daughter of a powerful business mogul, grew up on a mountainside estate with lush gardens and a dedicated chauffeur. Namin’s parents run a tented food cart from dawn to curfew; her sister works in a shoe factory. Now Jisun wants as little to do with her father’s world as possible, abandoning her schoolwork in favor of the underground activist movement, while Namin studies tirelessly in the service of one goal: to launch herself and her family out of poverty.

But everything changes when Jisun and Namin meet an ambitious, charming student named Sunam, whose need to please his family has led him to a prestigious club: the Circle. Under the influence of his mentor, Juno, a manipulative social climber, Sunam becomes entangled with both women, as they all make choices that will change their lives forever.

In this sweeping yet intimate debut, Yoojin Grace Wuertz details four intertwining lives that are rife with turmoil and desire, private anxieties and public betrayals, dashed hopes and broken dreams—while a nation moves toward prosperity at any cost.

Praise for Everything Belongs to Us

“The intertwined lives of South Korean university students provide intimacy to a rich and descriptive portrait of the country during the period of authoritarian industrialization in the late 1970s. Wuertz’s debut novel is a Gatsby-esque takedown, full of memorable characters.”The New York Times Book Review (Editors’ Choice)

“Wuertz’s masterful novel traces the paths of two friends who come from very different backgrounds, but whose trajectories have taken them to the same point in time. This is a story of love and passion, betrayal and ambition, and it is an always fascinating look at a country whose many contradictions contribute to its often enigmatic allure.”Nylon

Branding Options (v), Availability & Lead Times

  • 1-Color Imprint: $1.00 ea.
  • Promo-Page Insert: $2.00 ea. (full-color printed, single-sided page)
  • Belly-Band Wrap: $2.00 ea. (full-color printed)
  • Set-Up Charge: $40 per decoration
FULL DETAILS
  • Availability: Product availability changes daily, so please confirm your quantity is available prior to placing an order.
  • Branded Products: allow 10 business days from proof approval for production. Branding options may be limited or unavailable based on product design or cover artwork.
  • Unbranded Products: allow 3-5 business days for shipping. All Unbranded items receive FREE ground shipping in the US. Inquire for international shipping.
  • Product Details

    Author:
    Yoojin Grace Wuertz
    Format:
    Hardcover
    Pages:
    368
    Publisher:
    Random House Publishing Group (February 28, 2017)
    Language:
    English
    ISBN-13:
    9780812998542
    ISBN-10:
    0812998545
    Weight:
    20.8oz
    Dimensions:
    6.5" x 9.57" x 1.22"
    File:
    RandomHouse-PRH_Book_Company_PRH_PRT_Onix_full_active_D20210526T001024_8636572-20210526.xml
    Folder:
    RandomHouse
    List Price:
    $27.00
    Case Pack:
    12
    As low as:
    $20.79
    Publisher Identifier:
    P-RH
    Discount Code:
    A